A E I O U 

by Judd Greenstein



Year: 2009

Duration: 6' 00"

Instrumentation: 8 voices, SSAATTBB

Program Notes

AEIOU was written at Mass MoCA in the summer of 2009, during the first-ever assemblage of Roomful of Teeth. I came up for the second week of their 2-week residency, not knowing what the group was capable of doing — a forgivable sin since the group itself was just beginning to learn their own abilities and capacities. With me, I brought some sketches that I felt could be adapted to whatever sounds I heard the singers produce; these were études of sorts, studies in rhythm and harmony that left a lot of room for different sounds in different places. Once I heard what the group was able to do, I adapted some of these with their varied techniques in mind, creating fully-formed pieces that combined my sketches with the sounds of the ensemble.

AEIOU uses the five basic vowel sounds, in their Spanish configuration, as an ordered set, a “text” of sorts that structures the forward progress of the work, while the sonic landscape is a tapestry of interwoven yodels, throat singing, and straight-tone clarity.

Greenstein- A E I O U - for Octet - Score - PDF

The purchase of this product includes a license for 8 copies.

Add To Cart
Greenstein- A E I O U- for Octet - Score - Physical

The purchase of this product includes 8 copies of  A E I O U

Add To Cart
Greenstein- A E I O U- STUDY SCORE - PDF

The purchase of this product is a license for one full STUDY score and is not for performance. 

Add To Cart