by Angélica Negrón



Year: 2002

Duration: 08:05

Instrumentation: String Quartet



  1. Triste
  2. Silencio
  3. Programático 

Program Notes

"Triste Silencio Programático" is a piece in three movements for string quartet inspired by the aesthetics of German expressionist films of the early 20th century. The first movement "Triste" seeks to evoke the highly emotional and exaggerated expressions of the characters in these films as well as the elaborated make-up that the actors had on. "Silencio," the second movement, is inspired by the light and dark contrast often used to enhance the mood of the characters while the last movement, "Programático," explores distorted perspectives and tilted angles through playful rhythms and claustrophobic harmonies.